What is included in the default Theme Updater App Plan?
Using the default Theme Updater app plan, the app will move over most settings under Sales Channels > Online Store > Themes > Customize. This includes typography, color and content settings as well as section configurations. The default version will also attempt to move over basic custom code added to your theme files. If you or your developer have made extensive or complex customizations directly to the theme files then these customizations will need to be manually transferred to the updated theme.
Click here to view our FAQs about the Updater App (default version).
What added features does the pro version include?
The pro version adds support to transfer over language files, a detailed, line-by-line breakdown of any customizations you've made to the code as well as to receive automatic email alerts when a new theme version is released. Pro users are also eligible for exclusive discounts and offers from Out of the Sandbox.
Is there a free trial?
Yes. All first time users are eligible for a free 30 day trial of the pro plan the first time they install the app. This trial is limited to one time per store.
Can I uninstall the app and then reinstall it to get another free trial?
No. Our app will automatically detect if you have installed the app previously and activating the pro plan will result in the normal monthly fee being charged.
Is there a contract?
No. You may cancel or restart your app subscription at any time.
Do you offer refunds?
No. All subscription charges are final and cannot be reversed. If you cancel in the middle of a billing period, you will not be charged in the future, but there are no refunds for partially used time periods, even if it is a single day.
I got charged for a free trial. What can I do?
The app automatically detects when your pro plan trial expires and will bill you after 30 calendar days (this includes holidays and weekends). In order to avoid a charge, you must cancel before this time period is up. If you see a charge for the app, this means your trial has ended or you are no longer eligible for a free trial (keep in mind that each store can only use the free trial once in the lifetime of the store). In the event you forget to cancel your subscription before your trial ends, if you cancel the pro subscription within the app dashboard or uninstall the app, you will no longer be charged, but no refunds are available for partially used months.
How can I avoid getting charged after my free trial?
In order to avoid being charged after your free trial expires, you must cancel your pro subscription (or remove the app) before 30 calendar days have passed. Please note that this count includes holidays and weekends. We suggest adding a reminder to your calendar for 28 to 29 days after you start the trial so you can evaluate if you wish to continue with the paid plan or not before your trial ends.
How do I cancel my subscription?
To cancel your paid subscription, you can either switch to the free level or uninstall the app at any time. There are no refunds available for partially used months. See step-by-step instructions on how to unsubscribe from the 'Pro-plan' here.
Can you cancel my subscription for me?
No. Out of the Sandbox support has no way to cancel your subscription for you. You must do this under your Apps dashboard.
Do you guarantee that your app will be able to move over all changes?
No. While our app will attempt to move over custom code, there may be cases when custom code cannot be moved automatically. In these cases, you will need to contact a third party developer for assistance as Out of the Sandbox support is not able to provide support for custom code issues.
Do you provide assistance if my custom code cannot be moved over automatically?
Unfortunately, because custom code is created on a case-by-case basis and is typically unique, Out of the Sandbox support cannot assist with cases where the app fails to transfer custom code, even in cases where the customizations were made by Out of the Sandbox’s support team. If you are unable to resolve the issue, we suggest contacting a Shopify Expert for assistance. If possible, we recommend working with the developer who originally completed the customizations.
Help! The app broke my store!
Updates will always generate a new, unpublished theme in your shop, so you never have to worry about it affecting your live site. If your new theme causes problems with your store layout or functionality, keep it unpublished and try the update again, keeping an eye out for any merge conflict notifications from the app.
Why did you start charging for some features?
This decision was made to offset the investments made for app development as well as the expense of maintaining the servers. At this time, our goal is to keep all of the original, core features of the app free, while new features will become available only to pro users. However, we do reserve the right to update the features, pricing and plans at any time in order to ensure we can continue offering the app for everyone.
I’m not receiving email notifications. What should I do?
All email notifications are sent from the domain outofthesandbox.com. We always suggest adding this email to your address book or “safe sender” list to increase the chances that the alerts appear in your inbox. You may also need to check your spam or junk folder to see if the emails are being routed there and, depending on your email client, mark them as “safe.” Finally, it’s important to note that some email servers may block or misdirect our notifications before they reach your spam filters. In these cases, please contact your email or Internet service provider for assistance.
What do the red and green colours mean?
The red areas are the code in the default version of the theme you're updating from. The green areas are the additions made from customizations. Once you change the values in the red areas to those in green, your customizations should be successfully re-added to your updated theme.
You may have to do a bit of assessment to see how to bring forward these changes in the updated theme as the lines in the files may not match up or new/updated features in the theme may have caused the code to move files. Like the code of our themes, the customized code of your theme may also need to be updated periodically, to maintain compatibility with the updated theme and to maintain your altered functionality/design requests.
We suggest keeping in touch with the developer who committed these modifications to the theme, so they can update their customizations to be compatible with the default functionality of the updated theme. Alternatively, Shopify Experts can address the update on your behalf, aware of your past customizations to be sure they are maintained as the default code of the theme changes.